The brightest hairdressing talents from across the country gathered at the Convention Centre in Dublin on Monday 20th June for the highlight of the hairdressing industry calendar, the 50th Anniversary of L’Oréal Colour Trophy.

Hairdressers from salons all over Ireland went head to head to compete for the most sought after award in the Irish hairdressing industry. The awards attracted a high level of entries and competition was tense but there could be just one overall winner and The Dylan Bradshaw Academy on Dublin’s South William Street reigned supreme as this year’s L’Oréal Colour Trophy winner with the team of Aoife Bradley and Jenny Dawson who created the winning look on their model Alessandra Costello.

This year’s award categories also included the L’Oréal Men’s Image Award, which was won by Roy Leigh and Elayne Archbold from Brown Sugar Hair & Make Up in Blackrock, and the Star Award, which was awarded to Kate O’Neill of Peter Mark Dundrum.

The judging panel featured some of the highest profiled names in the international hairdressing industry, including Frederic Pavard (Alexandre de Paris), Jack Howard (Paul Edmonds), Steve Rowbottom (Westrow), Alan Edwards (Alan Edwards), Adam Reed (Percy & Reed) and Tina Farey (Rush).

Hosted by recently married TV presenter Amanda Byram, the L’Oréal Colour Trophy attracted the biggest icons in the industry and showcased all that is loved about hair colour, trends and fashion. The evening began with a champagne reception followed by a black tie dinner, the stunning hair show presentations, the awards and the onsite after-show party featuring Vogue Williams and The Strypes.

Leading Irish hairdressing salons Peter Mark, headed by Michel Doyle, and Zeba, headed by Stephen Kelly, showcased spectacular hair presentations titled ‘Belleto Musica Lirica’ and ‘Ascendants’ respectively, featuring stunning and dynamic hair looks created specially for the star studded event and to mark L’Oréal Colour Trophy’s 50th Anniversary.

For the first time ever the L’Oréal Colour Trophy winner will get the opportunity to compete on a global scale at the L’Oréal Professionnel Business Forum in Lisbon in October.

For more information, visit

For all L’Oréal Colour Trophy news find us on Facebook ( and Twitter @ColourTrophyIRE.

Winner of the L'Oreal Colour Trophy 2016 Award - Dylan Bradshaw Academy, Dublin

Winner of the L’Oreal Colour Trophy 2016 Award – Dylan Bradshaw Academy, Dublin

Full list of winners:

  • L’Oréal Colour Trophy
    Winner: Dylan Bradshaw Academy, South William Street, Dublin – Aoife Bradley and Jenny Dawson
    Runner-up: Preen, Dame Street, Dublin – Katherine Sweeney, Judy Wong and Suzi Lee
    Third place: Headmasters, Waterford – Dawn O’Sullivan and Stephanie Power
  • Men’s Image Award
    Winner: Brown Sugar Hair & Makeup, Blackrock, Dublin – Roy Leigh and Elayne Archbold
    Runner-up: Toni & Guy, Clarendon Street, Dublin – Joe Hayes and Neal Dempsey
  • Star Award
    Winner: Kate O’Neill of Peter Mark Dundrum